“reviews”

I’m bored… so here is something I find amusing.

In this drifter / aftermarket / 240sx car world, it seems that people are becoming more and more skeptical about knock off stuff (or new stuff in general). I like this, but at the same time laugh at it.

Example. This company “isis” that apaprently comes out of Enjuku, seems to be the new shit out there. They started off with a good old fashioned GReddy intake manifold copy. Ok great. wonderful.

Then they started selling “fencepipe” exhausts. Ok cool.

Now it seems that they sell suspension arms for the 240.

LOVE IT.  This is where people really start to question things.

People are demanding reviews from users before they consider buying them. Ok, that’s good. Spending wisely, right?

Well, what I laugh at lately is the suspension arm review.  Are people expecting to read a review that somebody writes a day after they get them?  A month? A year?

What good is a review going to do when they part just surfaced to the public a week ago?

How BAD are some of these suspension arms out there???

This entry was posted in Car CRAP, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “reviews”

  1. Rogan says:

    I don’t see the point of new suspension arm brands when there are already enough good ones out there to begin with

    Save it up and do it right the first time

    But nah, people just buy the cheapest arms

    I miss 2002 days

  2. bejota180sx says:

    i have the intake manifold and the exhaust from isis… i like the quality, i started with the intake manifold just to try it out compared to some ebay brands and it was really well built strong and not as bad as some ebay i have personally seen, not the best obviously when compared to the original but gets it’s job done and not bad quality, the exhaust is a great piece i love it and can’t wait to get it on as soon as the car moves again…

    as for suspension arms? well let’s put it this way… they don’t look that bad and i can trust enjuku and there isis line but i would still save up and get quality stuff as Rogan said “do it right the first time…”

  3. Jord says:

    When it comes to stuff that keeps the wheels on and the car pointing where you want it to point theres NO point going cheap. Exhausts/intercoolers/whatever I can see the appeal but if I bought junk to replace important parts I’d ALWAYS have it in the back of my mind when driving the car.

    But yeah the reviews thing is retarded, unless they are REALLY bad, they won’t break after a day/week/month.

  4. bejota180sx says:

    i love it when the review is “they look strong, took it to a few spins they “feel” good…” a review for me would include taking them for a few track days & a few month worths of daily abuse with long drives included AT LEAST. they look strong? they don’t have to LOOK they have to BE!

    dammit i hate it when people take THAT as a review

  5. Om1kron says:

    If they’re built with quality parts I don’t see the harm, but if they’re mass produced knock off’s of an existing product with cheaper materials then yes. You get what you pay for, just like in the newest video I’m going to upload tonight.

    I tried to cut corners and re-use a pressure plate. So I can get to R&D on my harness work.

    Guess what just grenaded…

    I shelled out the money for ACT, good clutches. But I really wish I could get some twin plate apparatus for the car.

    And now I’ll probably have to buy a whole new clutch kit because the clutch disc itself is probably now damaged.

    =(

  6. Geoff says:

    Here is a review for you. If it’s cheaper then all the good stuff out there, then it is probably cheaper then all the good stuff out there. My grandpa told me that. You can have it for free.

  7. codysarem says:

    I have first hand experience with HORRIBLE suspension arms (ebay).

    Broke the first run of the day, that taught me a lesson, somewhat.

    Not saying that isis doesn’t make good ones, just sharing whats out there hahaha

  8. realmz1 says:

    With all things after market, reviews really do not matter. The MOST IMPORTANT thing to wonder/ask/question is what type of engineering went into the design/functionality/durability of a product. Just because a company knocks of the design of another company the product as a whole (i.e materials used,dimensions ) are very important. Slapping a copied part mold into a machine and making aftermarket parts isn’t always the best “source” to get your car goods…

  9. kOOpA says:

    i think people freak out about suspension arms more than exhaust components because a malfunctioning exhaust component probably isn’t gonna put you into a wall/ditch, whereas a malfunctioning suspension arm very well may.

    personally, i always try to buy parts that have already been used by people who drive far better than myself, so this brand new unproven stuff just isn’t an option for me. i’ll pay an extra $50~ to know my stuff is ready to take a beating.

  10. bhworld says:

    lol…….. CARS!

  11. dmoney says:

    i don’t understand why people would buy anything that isn’t spl

  12. bhworld says:

    I don’t have anything from SPL.

    I have Battle Version and one thing from Parts Shop Max.
    They all work fine.

    I’d like to run all Cusco…. mostly because it is Japanese and I know it’s good.

  13. Steve says:

    “I’d like to run all Cusco…. mostly because it is Japanese and I know it’s good.”

    I lol’d

    I’ve had quite a few parts from various japanese companies with poor quality. Just because it’s japanese doesn’t mean it’s superior.

  14. bhworld says:

    Steven…… is that YOU?
    I think it is….

    yeah, some J stuff sucks. Some is cool.
    But, you know me…

  15. dmoney says:

    I trust battle version/parts shop max
    IMO spl is more for your dollar and a step above.

    I also trust cusco/kazama/etc but all of their suspension arms are old style and kind of outdated for lowness. I have cusco toe rods that are smiling but they arent broken at least.

Leave a Reply

